Some Advice Please
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
SpursFan1902
Pitch Queen

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:40 pm    Post subject: Some Advice Please Reply with quote

Since I will now have to do all of my own cooking, any suggestions for a solitary cooker? What kinds of recipes lend themselves better to being halved or quartered? I am a mediocre chef at best, but I can follow a recipe as long as it is not too tricky.

All suggestions greatly appreciated!
SquareEyes

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I often have to prepare quick & easy meals for myself, as I often get home after the rest of the family has eaten.

Some of my faves are combination of cold stuff, straight from the fridge, but tasty & healthy (apart from the beer ;) .

I like to play with combinations of smoked salmon (I find sockeye is best), maybe a slice of peppered smoked mackerel, perhaps some hot spicy sausage (like ciorizo etc.), a variety of toasted black & brine-pickled green olives, some rolled & sliced sections of wafer-thin hams (such as German Schwarzwald, Italian proscuttio crudo or speck etc.) and a few small chunks of cheese (I usually use a combination of a blue cheese and something creamy like a Brie).

I lay a combination of these, in whatever proportion takes my fancy at the time, separately, in bite-sized chunks on a plate and serve with a bowl of cherry toms, green salad (sometimes with Parmesan shavings), dressed with extra virgin, balsamic and a lot of freshly-ground black pepper.

The beauty of this combination is it's very PC friendly! You can rush off during a chat, whip it up in 5 mins, and be back on-line, nibbling away with a cocktail-stick & fork for the rest of the evening ;)
luke

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote